The ministers responsible for digital transformation in the public administration of the EU member states officially adopted the "Berlin Declaration on Digital Society and Value-Based Digital Government" at an online high-level conference in 2020. The Berlin Declaration contains common guidelines on digital transformation in Europe, its impact on society and future opportunities.

Dr Markus Richter, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community and Federal Government Commissioner for Information Technology, said: "By adopting the Berlin Declaration, we show that digital transformation in Europe must be based on democratic values and ethical principles. The Berlin Declaration is therefore both a compass based on values and a response to the question of what kind of digital change we want to see in our society. Digital public administration provides an important role model in this process."

In order to enable a value-based digital transformation, the countries that signed the declaration have agreed to carry out concrete measures by 2024 regarding, among other things, the digital sovereignty of their administrations, the promotion of civil society participation, digital inclusion and self-determination. These measures are based on the common values and ethical principles which form the foundation of the European Union and include in particular the following:

  1. promoting fundamental rights and democratic values in the digital sphere;
  2. enhancing social participation and inclusion;
  3. fostering digital empowerment and digital literacy;
  4. strengthening trust through security in the digital sphere;
  5. strengthening Europe’s digital sovereignty and interoperability;
  6. creating value-based, human-centred AI systems for use in the public sector;
  7. fostering resilience and sustainability.

The Berlin Declaration builds on the 2017 Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment.